Bag fees

Free checked bags: card, status and military rules by airline

Set the airline, the travelers and the free-bag benefit you hold: the calculator shows the round-trip bag fees with and without it.

Bag fees for your trip

Taking a carry-on?
Basic or lowest fare?
Pay for bags
Trip

Delta Air Lines, round trip, 1 traveler

$90

Checked bag 1, each way$45
Per traveler, each way$45

Fees read on Delta Air Lines’s page on October 26, 2026.

Three things waive checked bag fees on most US airlines: the airline’s co-branded credit card, elite status in its loyalty program, and active-duty military service. The card usually covers the first bag, and its value comes from the companions it includes: up to 8 on the same reservation with Delta and Southwest, up to 6 with Alaska, up to 3 with JetBlue. At $45 per bag each way, a family of four on Delta saves $360 on one round trip, and a couple $180. Status starts with one free bag at the first tier and reaches three at the top tiers of American, United, Alaska and Hawaiian. Military travelers on personal trips get two free bags on Delta, Southwest and Frontier, three on American, United, Alaska and Hawaiian, and more on orders. JetBlue publishes no military rule on the pages read, and Allegiant no free-bag benefit at all.

Does the airline’s co-branded card pay for itself in bag fees?

From your card’s terms

First checked bag fees avoided in a year

$360

Net of the annual fee$360
First bag, each way$45

Airline co-branded credit card: first checked bag free for eligible cardholders on domestic American-operated itineraries (AAdvantage number must be in the reservation). Number of companions covered is not stated on this page.

Free checked bags explained →

Sizes, fees and rules read by Radif Partners · Editorial policy · How we check

The co-branded credit card, airline by airline

Most US airlines on this site state a free-bag benefit for holders of their co-branded credit card, and it is the way most travelers end up checking a bag without paying. The rules differ on three points: how many companions are covered, whether the trip must be paid with the card, and which flights qualify. The table quotes the conditions as read on each airline’s page.

Card benefits as stated on the airline’s own pages; the card issuer is not named here.
AirlineWhat the card holder gets
American Airlinesfirst checked bag free for eligible cardholders on domestic American-operated itineraries (AAdvantage number must be in the reservation). Number of companions covered is not stated on this page.
Delta Air Linesfirst checked bag free for the cardholder and up to 8 companions on the same reservation (when the flight is booked with the card); the basic cardmember also gets a second checked bag free on domestic Delta-operated flights.
United Airlinesfee waivers exist for cardmembers (and qualifying primary cardmembers may bring a carry-on in Basic Economy); the free-checked-bag details (number of bags, companions) are not on the pages read.
Southwest Airlinesfirst standard checked bag free for the primary cardmember and up to 8 passengers on the same reservation (Rapid Rewards number must be in the booking).
Alaska Airlinesone free checked bag for the cardholder and up to 6 guests on the same reservation when the airfare is bought with the card.
JetBluefirst checked bag included for the cardmember and up to three travelers on the same itinerary, JetBlue-operated flights only.
Frontier Airlinesno co-branded card benefit stated on the pages read
Allegiant Airno co-branded card benefit stated on the pages read
Hawaiian Airlines2 free checked bags for the primary cardmember only, on North America–Hawaii and interisland flights; the Atmos Rewards card gives 1 free bag for the cardholder and up to 6 guests on the same reservation.

Two cautions. The companions must be on the same reservation as the cardholder; a friend booked separately on the same flight pays. And several airlines tie the benefit to details in the booking, such as the loyalty number on American and Southwest or payment with the card on Delta and Alaska. United’s pages read on an archived copy mention fee waivers for cardmembers but not the number of bags or companions, so this site counts no card benefit for United.

What the card saves on a round trip

A free first bag saves the first-bag fee twice per traveler on a round trip, once each way. The table uses each airline’s online price for the first bag and assumes every traveler is covered, within the number of companions the airline states.

American: companions covered not stated, so only the cardholder is counted.
AirlineTravelersFirst bag, each waySaved per round trip
Delta Air Lines2$45$180
Delta Air Lines4$45$360
Southwest Airlines4$45$360
Alaska Airlines4$45$360
JetBlue4$45$360
American Airlines1$45$90

Set those savings against the annual fee of the card. The calculator below takes the number of round trips you fly in a year, the number of travelers and the fee written in your card’s terms, and returns what is left once the fee is paid.

Elite status

Status in the loyalty program gives free bags without a card. The first tier usually brings one free bag, the middle tiers two and the top tiers three, and several airlines extend it to travelers on the same booking.

As read on each airline’s baggage pages.
AirlineFree bags with status
American AirlinesAAdvantage Gold / oneworld Ruby: 1st bag free; Platinum / oneworld Sapphire: first 2 bags free; Executive Platinum, Platinum Pro / oneworld Emerald: first 3 bags free.
Delta Air LinesMedallion members (any tier) and SkyTeam Elite/Elite Plus: first checked bag fee waived, extended to up to 8 companions on the reservation; more bags depending on tier/fare.
United AirlinesMileagePlus Premier: the member and up to nine others on the same itinerary check bags free; economy within U.S./Canada/Mexico/Caribbean/Central America: Silver 1 bag, Gold 2, Platinum 3, 1K 3 (70 lb each).
Southwest AirlinesA-List Preferred: 1st and 2nd bags free (+ up to 8 passengers on the reservation); A-List: 1st bag free (+ up to 8 passengers).
Alaska AirlinesAtmos Silver / oneworld Ruby: 1st bag free; Gold / Sapphire: 2 bags; Platinum & Titanium / Emerald: 3 bags (status-holder companions on the same reservation included).
JetBlueMosaic 1: 1st bag included; Mosaic 2-4: 1st and 2nd bags included (for the member and travelers on the same itinerary).
Frontier AirlinesElite Silver: personal item; Elite Gold: carry-on (member only); Elite Platinum: carry-on + 1 checked bag (member + up to 8 on the same reservation); Elite Diamond: carry-on + 2 checked bags (member + up to 8).
Hawaiian AirlinesAtmos Rewards status (shared Alaska/Hawaiian program): Silver 1 bag, Gold 2, Platinum/Titanium 3. Hawaii residents: Huaka'i program (interisland bags free).

United also raises the weight for its Premier members, to 70 pounds per bag in economy within North America. Frontier works differently: its Elite tiers unlock a carry-on first, then one and two checked bags at the Platinum and Diamond levels.

Military travelers

Active-duty US service members get free bags on every US airline that publishes a policy here, with a valid military ID. On personal travel the count is two or three; on military orders it rises, often to five. Several airlines raise the weight to 70 pounds or waive excess charges for these bags.

Spirit, which also had a military policy, stopped flying in May 2026 and is left out.
AirlineFree bags, personal travelRule as read
American Airlines3Active U.S. military with ID on personal travel: first 3 checked bags free; on orders (and dependents): 1st-5th bags free.
Delta Air Lines2Active U.S. military: personal travel 2 free bags in Delta Main/Comfort (3 in Premium Select/First/One); on military orders 5 free bags.
United Airlines3U.S. military personal travel: 3 free bags (62 in, 70 lb); on military orders: 5 free bags (115 in, 100 lb).
Southwest Airlines2Active-duty military with valid military ID: 1st and 2nd checked bags free.
Alaska Airlines3Active-duty U.S. military with ID, leisure travel: 1st-3rd bags free up to 70 lb (up to 5 at 70 lb); with orders: also overweight/oversize charges waived up to 5 bags.
JetBluenot statednot found on the pages read
Frontier Airlines2Active U.S. military with CAC/military ID (and accompanying spouse/children on the same itinerary): one personal item, one carry-on and two checked bags free, overweight/oversize fees waived on the two free bags.
Allegiant Airnot statednot found on the pages read
Hawaiian Airlines3Same as Alaska: active-duty U.S. military with ID get 1st-3rd bags free up to 70 lb.

The bags are free, but the rest of the trip is not always: an overweight bag beyond the waived limit pays the normal surcharge, listed on the overweight fee page. For everyone else, the checked bag fee comparison gives the price of each bag.

Questions travelers ask

Does the airline credit card give free bags to my companions?

On most US airlines, yes, if they are on the same reservation. Delta and Southwest extend the free first bag to up to 8 companions, Alaska to 6 guests and JetBlue to 3 travelers. American’s page confirms the benefit for the cardholder but does not state how many companions it covers, and United’s pages read here do not give the details.

How many trips does an airline card need to pay for itself?

Divide the annual fee by what one round trip saves. On Delta, a free first bag is worth $90 per traveler per round trip, so $180 for a couple. A card with an annual fee under that amount pays for itself on one couple’s trip with a bag each. The calculator on this page runs the numbers with your own fee.

Do military members get free checked bags on personal trips?

On most US airlines, yes, with a valid military ID. Delta and Southwest give two free bags, Frontier two plus a carry-on, and American, United, Alaska and Hawaiian three. On military orders the count rises, to five bags on American Airlines, Delta and United. JetBlue’s military policy was not found on the pages read for this site, so check with the airline.

Does elite status cover checked bags for people traveling with me?

Often, but not always. Delta Medallion members and Southwest A-List members share the free first bag with up to 8 companions on the reservation. United Premier members cover up to nine others on the same itinerary. Alaska’s page includes companions on the same reservation, and JetBlue Mosaic covers travelers on the same itinerary. Frontier ties the bags to the higher Elite tiers.

Check next

Airline and agency pages behind this page

Written by

Independent publisher of a free bag-size and baggage-fee checker for US and UK flyers, built from each airline's own baggage pages

Sizes and fees checked on · Editorial policy · Contact

Airline baggage rules 2026, read on each airline’s own pages, last checked on